Cleaning up your online presence is always a good idea, whether you're wanting a new start with a brand new account or you don't use the platform anymore. Deleting your old accounts will lessen your digital footprint and help you to keep track of all your social media accounts.

See below for guides on how to delete your accounts across a range of social media platforms:


Facebook

After your account has been deleted, you won't be able to retrieve your information, including any posts or photos you've uploaded. So, before you delete your account, you may want to log in and download a copy of your information from Facebook.

To permanently delete your account:

  1. From your main profile, click

    account

    at the top right of Facebook.

  2. Select Settings and privacy, then click Settings.

  3. Click Your Facebook information in the left column. If you have Facebook access to a Page in the new Pages experience: Click Privacy, then click Your Facebook information.

  4. Click Deactivation and deletion.

  5. Choose Delete Account, then click Continue to account deletion.

  6. Click Delete Account, enter your password and then click Continue.


Instagram

Remember that when you delete your account, your profile, photos, videos, comments, likes and followers will be permanently removed.

  1. Tap

    profile

    or your profile picture in the bottom right to go to your profile.

  2. Tap

    more options

    in the top right, then tap

    settings

    Settings.

  3. Tap Account, then tap Delete account at the bottom.

  4. Tap Delete account, then tap Continue deleting account.

  5. Select an option from the drop-down menu below Why do you want to delete [account name]? and re-enter your password. The option to permanently delete your account will only appear after you've selected a reason from the menu and entered your password.

  6. Tap Delete [username], then tap OK to confirm.


TikTok

1. Tap Profile in the bottom right in the TikTok app.
2. Tap the 3-line icon in the top right.
3. Tap Settings and Privacy.
4. Tap Manage account > Delete account.
5. Follow the instructions in the app to delete your account.


Twitter

Deactivating your Twitter account is the first step to deleting your account permanently. Deactivation lasts 30 days. If you do not access your account within the 30-day deactivation period, your account is deleted.

Once your account is deleted, your account is no longer available, you won’t be able to reactivate your previous account and you won’t have access to any old Tweets.

Step 1:

Click on the More icon and then click on Settings and privacy from the drop-down menu.

Step 2:

From the Your account tab, click on Deactivate your account.

Step 3:

Read the account deactivation information, then click Deactivate.

Step 4:

Enter your password when prompted and confirm that you want to proceed by clicking the Deactivate account button.


Snapchat

To delete your account if you’re on iOS:

  1. Tap the ⚙️ button on the Profile screen to open Settings

  2. Scroll down to “Account Actions”

  3. Tap “Delete Account

  4. Follow the steps to delete your account

To delete your account if you’re on Android or on the web:

Go to the accounts portal and type in the username and password for the account you want to delete. After you take the steps to delete your account, it will first be deactivated for 30 days. While your account is deactivated, your friends will not be able to contact or interact with you on Snapchat.

After an additional 30 days, your account will be permanently deleted. This means that your account, account settings, friends, Snaps, Chats, Story, device data and location data will be deleted.


WeChat

After logging in to WeChat, you can request account deletion in Me > Settings > Account Security > WeChat Security Center > Account Cancellation.

After 15 days, your account and all your information will be permanently deleted, and you won't be able to retrieve your information.


LinkedIn

Closing your account means permanently deleting your profile and removing access to all your LinkedIn information. You may want to download a copy of your data before you close your account.

To close your LinkedIn account from the Settings & Privacy page:

  1. Click the Me icon at the top of your LinkedIn homepage.

  2. Select Settings & Privacy from the dropdown.

  3. Under Account management section of the Account preferences section, click Change next to Close account.

  4. Check the reason for closing your account and click Next.

  5. Enter your account password and click Close account.


Reddit

Currently, you can only delete your Reddit account by visiting Reddit on your computer’s web browser or through their iOS mobile app. Once you delete your account, it can’t be reactivated.

How you delete your account is slightly different depending on which platform you’re on:

On reddit.com

  1. Visit your Account Settings and scroll down to the Delete Account section and click Delete Account.

  2. If your account was created with your Google account or Apple ID, scroll down to the Connected Accounts section and click disconnect next to the Google account or Apple ID you signed up with. If you don’t have a password yet, you’ll be asked to create one.

On old.reddit.com

  1. Visit the delete tab of your preferences.

  2. Enter your username and password and confirm your deletion before clicking delete account.

On the iOS app

  1. Tap on your avatar to open up your profile menu.

  2. Select Settings, then under Support, tap Delete account.


If you have any questions or need extra support, we're here to help you anytime in any language. Simply start a chat with us via the home screen of the Sonder app.

Information sourced from: Facebook, Instagram, TikTok, Twitter, Snapchat, WeChat, LinkedIn and Reddit.

Image credit: Ingrid Goes West

All content is created and published for informational purposes only. It is not intended to be a substitute for professional advice. Always seek the guidance of a qualified health professional.

Did this answer your question?